Why People Give Up on Dieting!

ImageOne of the main reasons why people give up on dieting is because they aren’t seeing any results. What they don’t understand is that it takes a month or two to start seeing results. We all know the best way to lose weight has always been healthy diet and exercise. The weight won’t just magically disappear by eating several goodies a day! So if you want something that bad why give up? 

I’ve found that the best way to keep myself motivated is always picturing myself the way I want my body to look. If I want to fit into that teeny tiny bikini… you have to work for it, and you have to work hard. It takes a lot of discipline to stay focused on eating well and exercising on a regular basis. Try looking at dieting and exercise as a lifestyle change, not a weight loss program. By giving yourself deadline such as, I need to lose 30 lbs in three months, you’re more inclined to give up. Looking at your diet as a lifestyle habit like eating nutritious foods, lowering your sugar and fat intake, steering clear from pre-packaged foods, eating 5-6 small meals a day, and making sure your body gets the right amount of nutrients, you’re more likely to lose the weight and keep it off. It shouldn’t matter if it takes three months or 12. You’re health is more important than any crash diet. 

Image Another reason why people tend to give up losing weight is because they don’t know how to eat. If you are looking to drop weight, the first thing you need to do is re-evaluate your eating habits. Remember, you are what you eat!  And counting calories can only get you so far. For optimal weight lose results, you need to eat fresh foods such as vegetables, fruits, whole grains, lean meats, legumes, healthy fats (nuts, avocado, olive oil, etc), and limit your sugar and fat intake. I have figured out that by eating extremely clean during the week, no sugars or fats, I can reward myself on Sunday with a great meal and dessert!  If I don’t eat well during the week, then I get no reward on Sunday. It gives me something to work toward every week. When you go out to eat, there are ALWAYS healthy alternatives. For example: If you decide you want to eat a burger, ask for the mayo on the side, ask for extra lettuce, omit the top portion of the bun, and if you can ask for no cheese! Or simply substitute with a turkey patty or grilled chicken.

Another tip that I have found that works best is instead of weighing in every week, try only weighing yourself once a month just to make sure you’re on the right track. If you are focusing on becoming a healthier you, there is no need to worry about how much weight is being lost because the most important thing is that you’re striving to live a healthier lifestyle.

But, depending on your body type, most people start to see results in 4-6 weeks. For myself, I started seeing results in my mood and the way I felt after week 2 and weight loss results in 4 weeks. It’s well worth the struggle!

Image

Leave a Reply

